Drum Capture + Mixing – Charlie Simpson – Parachutes

Hear me out here. Now, you may question my decision to study the work of ex-busted member Charlie Simpson. However, upon hearing this track for the first time, the drum sound immediately caught my attention as a well recorded, fairly traditional drum sound. As “plain” as it may be, i think it’s important to be able to achieve the basic drum sound you would typically hear before delving into more interesting drum sounds (see the 1975 post). 

Upon listening to the intro drum pattern on loop, there are a few things I have noted.

– The feel of the drums have been left fairly loose, and appear to be fairly untouched by time adjustment software. 

– The compression on the snare is very heavy – almost too heavy? However it sounds fairly fat, and they were after that sound…

– From what I can hear, all elements of the drum kit appear to be have been sent to a reverb bus, giving the kit an overall sense of space, and makes the listener feel like they are listening to a live drum performance on a stage.

Taking from this, I would like to try different drum reverbs on the overall kit of some of my recordings and compare the differences. 

I believe it is also a lesson on capturing a performance – if you have to edit the hell out of a drum take to get it in time, then maybe it’s not the right performance. 

Leave a comment