Drum Sample Replacement – YouMeAtSix – Underdog

In order to study drum replacement, I am taking a little detour into the world of pop-punk

This track is a fairly obvious example of drum replacement I feel – If you listen to the snares in the intro, they are all very consistent and similar, giving the drum and an almost unnatural feel. However, I feel that the sound is appropriate to the genre. 

So drum replacement – should we all be recording our kits with 58’s on every element, then fully replacing them all? I went into the studio with my dear friend Ben as my drummer, and tried a little experimentation with the software Trigger. 

Upon using the software, I discovered a few things.

– It’s not as simple as it first sounds

– Yes you do still have to mix the drums

– Some of the samples actually kinda suck

My first tactic was to fully replace the drums with spanking fresh samples from the trigger library. This didn’t exactly do what I intended, and I found that this gave an extreme version of the example I spoke of above, where the playing sounds unnaturally consistent, and very false. 

I found that the best result was by first achieving a good capture sound, and then using sample replacement to fill in the ‘gaps’. I think that genre’s like Pop punk have suffered as a result of over using software like trigger. 

What can I take from this? The snare on my AST recording of ‘Paige D – Carry on’ desperately could have benefited from some sample replacement on the snare – the capture was poor, and so was the mix, so the overall sound had a serious lack of depth. Note to self – don’t over use this software though.

Leave a comment